Who's pre-built would you buy?

zzzhuh

Honorable
Apr 7, 2013
Of all of the Pre-built Desktop computers for sale in the USA, which one would you buy if price were not the determining factor, but you wanted good manufacturer's customer service and a dependable family computer? Thank you very much.

Retrowire

Distinguished
Jan 27, 2013
Are you talking custom manufacturers or big brand name ones?

Custom meaning, cyberpower, ibuypower, falcon northwest, etc...

Brand names being: Dell, Asus, Acer, HP, etc..

zzzhuh

Honorable
Apr 7, 2013
I'm just beginning my search for a new Windows 8 computer, and am open to whichever manufacturer you think is the best. Preferably, a company that stands behind their warranty, offers good customer service, and boots up the computer to test it, before they ship it out. Thanks.

Retrowire

Distinguished
Jan 27, 2013
Hmm, well of all the computer companies I've bought computer's from: Dell, Lenovo, Apple and Acer.

I can only give you my experience of two regarding Windows 8.

You've got to be careful when buying a computer with Windows 8 on it these days because it seems to me that since it's a new OS, alot of the bloatware that these companies put on the computers really slow things down. Examples include: I got my mom an Acer Touchscreen laptop with Windows 8 on it. The laptop wouldn't load webpages correctly and no matter how much Microsoft's customer support tried to help me fix the problem, the only way to fix it was to do a CLEAN install of Windows 8 on the computer with none of the manufacturers bloatware on it. Now it works like a dream.

Now my wife just got a Lenovo laptop with Windows 8 and it's having worse problems because of the heap of bloatware on it, running in the background and what not. Her system will hang when booting up or take FOREVER to startup which Windows 8 is not known for. It's a very fast OS. She's reluctant to do a clean system wipe but it'll have to be done sometime or another.