So old I'm a newbie again... advice on a homebuilt please

G

The last time I put together a homebuilt it was a screaming hot 486/66, so I could use some help now.

I am thinking of using a Gigabyte "GA-Z77X-UP4 TH" motherboard with an Intel i5-3570k CPU; a Sapphire Radeon 7870 2Gb PCI-E video card; two Seagate 7200rpm 2TB HD's; and a Coolmaster 725w ATX 12v power supply. (I will not be overclocking)
My questions are:
1. Suggestions for better components at or near the same price? (Want onboard 7.1 sound.)
2. If I don't get the video card, will this (or another similar) MoBo support playing newer games like Skyrim?
3. I have an old Compaq Presario P4 with components I want to recycle into this new system. Can I use the case as well or do I need to get a more modern case?
4. Should I consider an extra cooling fan or some other cooling method?

PS: I intend to run this PC with Windows 8.

Your informed input would be greatly appreciated. (I've never had a video card that needed additional power, so I'm not sure this MoBo has the right kind of power connectors for a video card... like I said, newbie all over again.)

1. You can downgrade the motherboard a bit, a GA-Z77X-D3H is a good board that will cover you for near everything you would want to do. Unless your buying top tier motherboards, wouldnt expect much when it comes to audio quality. Always best to go with a dedicated card if you want high end sound capability.
EDIT: Also, Coolermaster arent the best when it comes to PSU's. You might want to switch to a unit from Corsair, XFX or Seasonic. 750W is pretty overkill for the rig as is unless you are leaving Crossfire/SLI open as a future upgrade, for the rig as is I say get a 550-650W supply.

2. The motherboard has little to no impact on gaming performance now that integrated graphics have moved from the mobo to CPU. But regardless, if you want good performance you need a dedicated card.