Sign in with
Your question

Is ASUS M5A97 R2.0 Compatible With AMD FX-6300

Last response: in Motherboards
April 14, 2013 2:29:04 PM

Hi everyone, Is the ASUS M5A97 R2.0 motherboard compatible with the AMD FX-6300?

I have heard from some people that it will work and from others that it wont.

Does anyone here know if it will work? I am not a computer expert and I have no idea on how to flash the BIOS

Link to the motherboard http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
April 15, 2013 8:05:27 AM

utroz said:
Yes it is supported but you might need to update the BIOS. Hope this helps.

Source: https://www.asus.com/Motherboards/M5A97_R20/#support_CP...

Is there any way to determine if it is the correct version before I buy it? I am not a computer expert so I don't know how to update the bios.
Related resources
a b V Motherboard
April 15, 2013 8:45:50 AM

Hitman1 said:
Is there any way to determine if it is the correct version before I buy it? I am not a computer expert so I don't know how to update the bios.

The M5A97 R2.0 should support AMD FX CPUs out of the box.
A Bios update is recommended though.

a c 150 Ĉ ASUS
a c 558 V Motherboard
a b À AMD
April 15, 2013 9:02:39 AM

With the R2.0 you can use the flashback for updating the BIOS. No supported CPU needed (you don't have to start the board for flashing the BIOS).
April 15, 2013 11:44:32 AM

bartholomew said:
Hitman1 said:

The M5A97 R2.0 should support AMD FX CPUs out of the box.
A Bios update is recommended though.

Just to be clear if I build my pc and startup it will start and work but I should get a bios update?

Is the bios update just like a regular update that I download and install? The thing is that I am not an expert and I have never done this before so I dont want to do it and screw up.

April 15, 2013 12:44:50 PM