Career path for someone with a business degree

walkerstyles87

Honorable
Apr 18, 2013
Hey everyone,

I am currently looking for some advice on what goals I should set for myself to help get my career where I want it to be. To give some background, I graduated with a degree in business administration and took a few computer science classes along the way. My background when it comes to computers is some basic knowledge of C++, Java, and of course some languages relevant to web development and this is all pretty much self taught. I am also very familiar with different hardware configurations and have built plenty of PC's and that really sums it up for my hands on experience. Currently, I really think that network administration would be a great field to work in because it really grabs my attention.

My current plans are to take the A+ exam which should hopefully be a breeze. I have read the latest edition of Mike Meyer's popular study guide and feel like I understand all of the information thoroughly. I would hope that getting the A+ would be enough to make getting into the field at an entry level realistic but I understand that it is competitive and that A+ certs are a dime-a-dozen now so obviously it doesn't put me ahead of the field. For the past month or so I have been reading books on Comptias network+ as well, taking my time to really try and apply the concepts and fully understand the material but at the moment that is my next goal, which I am hoping will for sure help me get my foot in the door somewhere. Shortly after, I feel that it would make sense to take the CCENT from Cisco but I will cross that bridge when I come to it. My main concern is my lack of hands on experience. Even if I did pass the Network+ exam with flying colors, it doesn't mean I know how to best apply it in a real life situation and I am just hoping that by getting the certifications, it will lead to a great job to really earn that hands on experience I so desperately need.