Is the Logitech G710 difficult to type with?

vertigoelectric

Distinguished
Apr 2, 2013
I'd like to get a decent gaming keyboard, but since I'm a web developer/programmer for a living I need a keyboard that is easy to type with. The G710 has all the overall features I want in a keyboard, but without actually touching it I'm not sure if it will type well. I had the G510 a long time ago, and that was AWFUL to type with. I'm hoping the G710 might be much better than that. I'm looking for people with experience who can tell me what they think.

did you just delete your duplicate post?

i typed out a quite lengthy response however received error 404 and now that i look again that copy is gone.

you will have to be happy with this shorter post instead.

----

the g510 is rubber dome while the g710 is mechanical. the 710 would be superior however for the price you have other options.s

read this http://www.overclock.net/t/491752/mechanical-keyboard-guide to figure out what type of keyswitches are best for you.

buckling spring & cherry mx blue are best for typists since they have tactile and auditory feedback.
cherry mx browns are in the middle with tactile but no auditory feedback.
cherry mx blacks are best for gaming because they have no tactile or auditory feedback.

personally i feel the ibm model m is keyboard perfection. the shape and placement of the keys is perfect, the buckling spring keyswitch is perfect and the sheer weight and durability are perfect. the only negatives are that they support only a 2kro at minimum and some find the keys harder to press and loud. i found the resistance and noise to be good points however i would like unicomp to update their keymatrix so that we can have a higher key rollover. unicomp bought the rights off of ibm so now they produce the unicomp customizer which is a clone of the original. definitely a good product for only $80.