Sign in with
Your question

Motherboard incompatible with Power Supply? Is this possible?

Last response: in Motherboards
April 22, 2013 3:43:43 PM

Hey guys, this is my first time posting on here so please forgive if I’m a little long winded, I don’t know how much detail is truly needed so I’m just going to give all the detail I can so here it goes:

This is a client build first off, and is rather high budget and I’m running into an issue whereas the mother board and PSU don’t seem to “work” together. The 24-pin motherboard connector goes into the port on the MOBO but it won’t fully click in, it leaves about a 1/2millimeter of space (which being in electrical engineering I know the current should still be able to arc and give power. But whenever I turn everything on and it’s fully wired up and I push the reset button (the reset button is wired to the power button MOBO connector from the case… go figure a factory issue…) Here are all the components:

AMD Black Edition 8-core CPU
ASRock 990fx Extreme 3 MOBO
EVGA GeForce GTX 670 4gb GPU
Corsair Vengance 32gb
WD HDD 4TB
Samsung 830 series SSD 120gb
Thermaltake TR-2 RX 850W PSU
Corsair H100i Water Cooler
LG Multi-Disk
2 9-LED LED strips (Red)
NZXT Phantom 410

I tested the power supply and it is giving off power. The only other bit of info you might need is something that has been bother me as well. There are two wires that come directly out of the PSU, a 24-pin that goes to the MOBO and an 8-pin that has a tag on it saying “PCIe” but my PCIe GPU has dual 6-pin peripheral cables that plug into the 6-pin four outlet Peripheral Power Supply cable. The MOBO has an 8pin up by the CPU and there is a wire that came with the PSU labled; “to PSU” and “to MOBO” but does that red tipped “PCIe” cable NEED to be hooked up?
a b V Motherboard
April 22, 2013 5:47:37 PM