Autodesk/ Gaming Rig: First attempt, is GPU bad? Please Read

hasky620

Honorable
Dec 25, 2012
Hi, I'm a mechanical engineering college student building a computer, I love to game but the real purpose of the build is to use Autodesk Inventor and Solidworks. The builds are for amateur product development/ 3-D printing and are relatively minor, usually assemblies under 20 components. I like to run the high end games like Skyrim, Borderlands 2, Bioshock Infinite, etc. they don't have to be at max settings but I hate lag. I intend to run 2 monitors, but I'm not particularly pick when it comes to which ones. I intend to mid-level overclocking, and prefer to stick with intel for reasons of efficiency.

I will be in school for the next 6+ years until I get my doctorate and would like this build to last me most of, if not all of that time. I have done a fair amount of research [[ using mostly Scott Mueller's Upgrading and Repairing PCs and Tom's]] and feel fairly confident in my choices but have a nagging feeling that I'm not getting the biggest bang-for-my-buck with my $1750 budget. Should I rebuild around a workstation graphics card for build longevity? The price-point for the 660 seemed ideal but the benchmarks for Solidworks seems pathetic...
http://

Any input or alternative builds would be greatly appreciated. I have component specific questions and comments posted below with the corresponding component. Again thank you for your time and input, I really appreciate it.

CPU: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.5GHz Quad-Core Processor ($229.99 @ Microcenter)

{{ I figure I'll be able to save some money with this processor after Haswell comes out freeing up money for other components. I've heard that its possible to overclock to 4.5Ghz, is this true???}}

CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($29.98 @ Outlet PC)