Need tips for a Technical Presentation on 8 core processors. Help!?

blazekid43

Honorable
Aug 18, 2012
I'm in my first year at electronic engineering and I have to do a 5-6 min in-depth technical presentation on 8 core processors.

I was hoping i could pick some brains around here for some knowledge as I'm assuming many of you have probably done this before. So for example, how do you think I should begin with my presentation, what technical aspect/s of a multi-core processor should i talk about that would last me 5-6 mins?

Also I'd like to ask some basic questions. I've done some research but I bet the stuff I researched is probably out of date.

-What is the fastest 8-core processor available today to the public?
-Pro's and con's of an 8-core processor
-future of 8-core processors
-or any other relevant questions you think I've missed out.

I'm sorry if this is a bit much, but I only vaguely know how to do a presentation well.

RobCrezz

Expert
Ambassador
Fastest 8 Core CPU available to public would probably be the Intel Xeon E5-4650 I would have thought.
Pros - ability to process more threads
Cons - more power consumption and heat

future - 8 cores will become the norm, increasing to 10+

(cracks knuckles) All righty...

0. There are a lot of 8-core CPUs out there and they differ a lot.
- The first CPU I know of with 8 cores on one CPU package is the IBM POWER5. It used four dual-core dies on one massive ceramic package. Benchmarks on IBM hardware are rare due to IBM supposedly having an NDA stating nobody is to benchmark their parts, plus high-end IBM stuff like an 8-core POWER5 costs a ton of money. (The rumor is that the anti-benchmarking NDA's existence is itself covered by an NDA...) The current POWER7 has up to 8 actual cores on one die but like above, few can really say how fast it is or isn't.