Which case for these components?

G Protein

Honorable
Apr 30, 2013
Hi, this is my first time building my own system and the first time I will be owning a desktop for years. I am quite new to the game but I have done a lot of research over the past week.

Anyway, I was wondering what would be the best value for money mid tower case and a PSU for the following components:

Intel i5 3570k processor
Asus Maximus V Gene z77 MOBO
Corsair 8GB (2x 4GB) XMS3 memory
Gigabyte GTX 560 GPU

I have seen a Cooler MasterCM690 II for £65 at http://www.hotukdeals.com/deals/cooler-master-cm690-version-ii-advanced-usb3-cooler-master-gx-lite-700w-psu-bundle-1509861 but I wanted the opinion of people with more knowledge than me. Ideally the cost would be around £50-70 as I am not running on a very high budget.

flong777

Honorable
Mar 7, 2013

That's a combo case with a no-name PSU and I would avoid it. A poor quality PSU can fry your expensive components. BTW the case is OK - I have a friend who used it and he likes it.

I recommend Corsair PSUs and cases because they are high quality and Corsair REALLY backs their products (unlike some manufacturers).

Since you are on a budget, the Corsair CX600 has been rated well in professional reviews and it is very cheap. It will run a single GPU build easily.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139028

The Corsair TX650 is the next step up:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139020

For a case, the Corsair 300R is one of best, cheap cases sold. It has most of the bells and whistles of the more expensive cases and it cools very well. You could also look at some of the cheaper Cooler Master cases.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811139011

G Protein

Honorable
Apr 30, 2013
Thanks for your reply. I was wondering if I should use a 600W or 650W PSU? I hear conflicting thoughts across the internet.

flong777

Honorable
Mar 7, 2013