Laptop freezing randomly

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rui Costa

Honorable
Apr 30, 2013
Hi to you all.

This is my first time posting the problem but i hope i get some usefull answers anyway.

I've got an Asus M51VA (oldie but goldie) for about 8 years and for about a couple of months i began freezing randomly. I've tried everything i remembered: replaced thermal paste, cleaned heatsink and fan with compressed air, analised for virus and spyware, cleaned registry, you name it. What is strange is it has no rule to freezing. Sometimes it comes out of nothing, sometimes is when i try to download torrents, now is when i try to update League of Legends, it stays for one hour and then freezes. But when gaming or viewing movies it stays normal. It's not overheating. I installed Speedfan and at the moment it freezes it normaly reads 50-60C.

Now for the specifications:

ASUS M51VA
4 Gb RAM
INTEL Duo P8600
ATI Mobility Radeon HD 3650
Windows Vista Home Premium 32b SP2

Thanks in advance guys,

Rui Costa

pteradox

Honorable
Feb 3, 2013
Windows often keeps logs of system errors and crashes - see if there's anything there that might help. Also, try a different operating system (maybe a small Linux install like Damn Small Linux) if you aren't afraid to partition your hard drive a bit, this can determine whether it is a hardware or OS problem (knowing Vista, it could be an OS problem). But in the end, a laptop living for 8 years could be prone to CPU or hard drive failures and it may just be time for a new one. If you've put up with Vista for that long, you deserve it anyways.

Rui Costa

Honorable
Apr 30, 2013
Scottie:
No BSOD and my video card temp doesn't go as far as 80-85C when gaming. What do you mean by "reflow"?

Pteradox: