need suggestions on pc specs

datkitteh

Honorable
May 12, 2013
its my first time building a gaming pc and im not sure about the parts i've chosen.
the specs are:

case: silverstone PS06B-W
mobo: asus sabertooth z77
cpu: intel core i5-3570k
cpu cooling: noctua NH-D14
gpu:asus gtx670-dc2-4gd5
ssd: samsung 84a pro series
hdd: seagate barracuda 1tb
power supply: corsair enthusiast series tx 650m 80 plus
memory: corsair vengeance 8gd ddr3 1866 mhz (2x4)
audio card: asus xonar dg headphone amp&pci 5.1
cooling: (silverstone ap121) x3

so far it costs about 1500 $ which is fine with me but of course better prices are welcome!
please feel free to leave any suggestions and correct me if i made any stupid choices. specifically im not sure if the nh-d14 will work well with the case.though it fits im not sure if the remaining space is enough.

a few alternatives or suggestions listed under with a hypen...

case: silverstone PS06B-W
-alternatives: antec 900, haf 922 or other similar case. personally i prefer cases with normal 120 or 140mm fan slots as some of the large fans can be hard to find or expensive to replace.
mobo: asus sabertooth z77
-decent specsfor your budget but i'm not sure i'm convinced on that heat shield idea. i would think it would trap heat more than it helps. it also seems like a dust magnet and dust shield which may make it hard to clean the motherboard off. i can imagine lots of dust getting trapped under the plastic and causing problems in the future. i own an asus motherboard myself (rampage III extreme rog) and i've found it to be very reliable.
cpu: intel core i5-3570k
-an i5 is all you need for most gaming. if you do not plan on overclocking then you do not need a K suffixed cpu. your call there.
cpu cooling: noctua NH-D14