Sign in with
Your question

C drive corrupted, disk check won't work, system restore won't work

Last response: in Systems
May 13, 2013 5:21:13 AM

Hello

Please excuse my ignorance. I've built my current PC, a year or so ago, but I'm by no means an expert on these things.

When booting up my PC, it gets to the Windows graphics then screen goes black, it says that it needs to perform a disk check, then says that it can't perform a disk check as it's corrupted.

Windows then starts (is it in safe mode, I'm not sure) and I've got what seems like full functionality, but the resolution on the screen is changed. I get a few messages saying that some files are corrupt or unreachable, and that I should perform a disk check. I've tried a system restore, but it says that because the C drive is corrupted or unreachable that I need to run disk check. Try that, but as it's running it says I need to schedule one for after a restart. But then this obviously doesn't work as noted above.

My C drive is an SSD that's about a year old, if that makes any difference.

Is there anything I can do or do I just need to reformat the drive and reinstall Windows?

Any help gratefully received.
May 13, 2013 3:15:26 PM

You might try to run a FULL virus scan to see if it is infected or really corrupted. You may need a virus pgm boot disk depending on the virus pgm you have. Another thing you can try is boot to the Windows installation disk and have it try to do a repair of Windows. As a last resort, yes, you may have to do a clean install of Windows. Be sure you follow the accepted norms for installing Windows to a SSD: http://www.computing.net/howtos/show/solid-state-drive-...
May 14, 2013 12:04:24 AM

Nice one. I will try both those things when I have a moment. Looking after the new baby comes first right at the moment.

Thanks for your help
Related resources
May 18, 2013 2:39:44 AM