Upgrading 3 year old system on a budget! specs inside.

Pick all parts to upgrade having $300 max budget in mind

• mobo

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • cpu

• ram

• gpu

Votes: 1 33.3%
  • psu

• ram + cpu only

• cpu + gpu only

• wait another year and buy a new system alltogether

Votes: 2 66.7%

• Total voters

Klimentiy

Distinguished
Aug 12, 2010
I am looking to spend about $200-300 to upgrade my old system to last me another year or two. I use it mainly for web, movies, gaming. I've been running current OC's for about two years now.

MSI 870-g45 (770 chip AM3 socket)
GTX 460 768mb (OC'd 860MHz 2200 mem)
Ripjaws 2x2GB 1600 9clock (OC'd 8-8-8-24-1t)
Phenom II 555 (OC'd 3.7Ghz)
OCZ 600 watt PSU

I was thinking getting a quad core phenom and new RAM sticks 4Gb each or adding 2 more 2Gb ripjaws.

Here is a link to my mobo: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130290

Thanks! :)

False_Dmitry_II

Distinguished
I'd probably say you can up the ram now, because it doesn't matter when that happens, and wait for the steamroller cpu's to come out. I wouldn't move from one phenom II to another at this point. Apparently new graphics cards might be coming out about the same time later in the year as steamroller, so even if your target is used from ebay better deals will be had then.

Klimentiy

Distinguished
Aug 12, 2010

Thanks for reply my friend. Could you please tell me more about new cpu, gpu? when to expect these to come out and what price range are these going to be? also what socket? i am assuming i will need new mobo

Haswell, Intel's next architecture, comes out in about two weeks on LGA1150 (new).

Steamroller, next from AMD, is a few months away, but will continue to use AM3+, but it looks like no FX CPUs are on your mobo's support list.