Work/Gaming build challenge

Rival Son

Honorable
May 20, 2013
(Sorry, It's quite long)
Okay, so I'm new to PC gaming. I have a fair bit of background knowledge and I'm currently swimming through the oceans of forums, articles and flame wars about who/what is best for what. I'm looking to build a pretty good system, but over a long period (around a year/ year and a half). Its going to have to end up pretty beefy, but can take steps along the way if thats a better way to do it.

The basics : Gaming, is the main focus to start.
I will be doing 3D modelling/design (using Solidworks and similar), including simulating airflow and stress testing.
Video and photo editing too.

So the challenge is, do I build a cheap gaming PC and gradually build up.
Do I make a great gaming PC and worry about Design/editing later
Make an average system and build on that base (mid-range MB and upgrade later)
Make a great base (Great MB and Full tower with good PSU) and build on it (may not have as good a system to start, but means I am future proof since I can upgrade to better parts easily)

My budget is limited to around £800 at the moment(willing to spend more later, but money doesn't grow on trees :( and I'm a student).

Sorry for the long post
Hope you can give me some insight and help
Rival

EDIT: Corrections and Clarifications

Transmaniacon

Distinguished
A workstation card is going to be out of your price range, and since you are also gaming, a gaming GPU will cover your main task and still be decent for CAD. I went with an AMD build to give you a little more bang for your buck, but you could easily go Intel with a few changes.

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: AMD FX-8350 4.0GHz 8-Core Processor (£145.99 @ Aria PC)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler (£24.49 @ CCL Computers)
Motherboard: ASRock 970 Extreme3 ATX AM3+ Motherboard (£61.80 @ Dabs)