Need help building a new computer

iamatechnoob

Honorable
May 21, 2013
My previous desktop died on me and I would like build a decent gaming computer (cause its cheaper to build than buy) and would like some advice on whether the parts I choose are fine. My primary use would be gaming (average gamer), and perhaps some light video editing.

I am a noob with all these computer parts but after some research, have decided to get something like (open to suggestions):

CPU: i5-3470
Mobo: H77/Z77 chipset
GPU: GTX 650 Ti (minimum)
500 GB HDD, 64/128GB SSD
20-22" Monitor
PSU: not sure how much power supply I need but perhaps 550-625w (80+ Bronze) is enough?
Case: Not good with cases :/

I'm not too sure the difference for each part for individual retailers (e.g. AsRock, Gigabyte) but I see there are different variations for the same part so advice on which brand I should get will be a great help. Also those parts I named are just a rough idea so opinions on what I should switch them with are also welcome! (hopefully not too expensive compared to what I have picked as I am on a budget)

Thanks in advance for any help!

Jake Dennis

Honorable
May 6, 2013
Hi here are my ideas:

CPU: i5-3570 you won't need the 3570k because you won't be overclocking. I think...
Motherboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme 4
GPU: Sapphire Radeon HD 7850 100355OCL and if you buy from newegg use this $20 of code EMCYTZT3464
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 500gb 7200rpm
SSD: $80 SanDisk SDSSDP-128G-G25 from newegg
RAM: 8GB Corsair Vengeance clocked at 1600mhz
PSU: Corsair CX 500 or 500M for a cleaner look...if your case has a window
Case: It's really up to you but I love Corsair products so I like the 200R for a cheapish price and had USB 3.0
Monitor: Another great deal from newegg it;s a Hanns-G HE225DPB. Looks pretty good 1920x1080 and it has built in speakers.
Optical Drive: iHAS124-04 it reads and burns and from newegg $3 off with EMCYTZT3469

That is 900ish without tax and shipping hope I helped:)