My parents think buying a computer is better than building one, help me prove them wrong!

Which makes a better workstation: Prebuilt HP or Custom Rig?

• Custom Built

Votes: 8 100.0%
  • Prebuilt HP

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Both are bad, get a Prebuit Dell

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

Chrislsimpson

Distinguished
Oct 12, 2010
I have just graduated college, and I am looking to make a living doing freelance 3D animation work, and Video Editing. (Using 3dsmax and Adobe Software like After Effects)

I have never built my own computer before, but I have replaced hard drives, graphics cards, etc on other computers at work (What i don't know is how to put in the motherboard, processor, and heatsink etc)
I have never done that before, and I want to make sure i do it right.

Because of that, my parents want me to get a prebuilt workstation.

I have a NVIDIA GTX 660 Ti that I am defiantly going to reuse.

And here is the HP Z220 Workstation Build that my parents want me to get for $1900:
-HP Z220 Case
-Intel® Core i7-3770 3.4 GHz CPU
-8GB DDR3-1600 nECC (2x4GB) Unbuffered RAM
-2 1TB 7200 RPM SATA 6G 1st Hard Drives in RAID 1
-16X SuperMulti DVDRW SATA Optical Drive
-Some Generic Un named HP PSU
-Some Generic Un named HP Motherboard

I know that for that price i could probably build something much better, or I could probably get around the same thing for much less

So im basically wanting your advice for two different workstation builds.
The only requirement i have for them (unless its smarter otherwise) is to have 1TB RAID 1 drives:
- One for the same price as the HP Build ($1900)
- One with the best specs you could get for $1000-$1200 (Due to the money i have i will probably go with this one but still will consider the other one if i can find more cash somewhere)

I don't care about Intel or AMD that much, I just want to get whatever would be better.