Problem with the image on my monitor

tomate2

Distinguished
Apr 8, 2010
I have a LG Flatron W2243S, which I run as a extended monitor. My OS is Windows 8 Enterprise Edition 64-bit and before that Windows 7 Professional 64-bit. I've been using Windows 8 for a couple of months now and a problem has reemerged from back when I was still using Windows 7, just before I made the switch. Here is a picture I took with my cellphone of the same image being displayed by both my main and extended monitor.

This is main (the one with normal picture)
WP_000341_zps56fc9432.jpg

This is the LG extended one (with the not so normal picture)
WP_000339_zpsb3b6ba3c.jpg

If its not that obvious, the problem is that some parts of my screen has these pink pixels where they should be other colors. I'm not really sure about this, but it seems to occur on gradients, when for example a dark gray fades to become a lighter gray. Another thing that doesn't show on pictures is that these pink pixels are flickering, which just makes the whole thing a lot more annoying.

The picture was taken with a camera instead of PrtScn because it doesn't show up on PrtScn, so the problem must be the monitor and not the GPU. When I was still on Windows 7, upgrading to Windows 8 solved the problem but as you can see its back to haunt me. I don't know what's going on, neither do I know what this problem is called so not really sure how to research about it. I've tried setting the LG as the main monitor and that didn't help, and I don't want to re-install the OS if I don't need to.

Anyone here can give me a hint?
Has my monitor reached its life expectancy? (about 3-4 years)

Sorry for the long read, just thought that being as detailed as possible can help with coming up with an answer.

you say you have tried using windows to swap the primary monitor however have you tried physically swapping the cables?
-if the issue persists then you can rule out the cable. if the issue goes away then you have a bad cable.