Sign in with
Your question

A newb need help with getting stuff to build a PC

Last response: in Systems
May 25, 2013 7:22:26 AM

Hi everyone,
As the title stated, I'm just a newb that want to have a good PC to do multi-tasks (gaming, videos, editting, photoshop and etc...) but i've never build one myself. I've read around and watched a few videos on how to build a PC and kind of getting the ideas of how to build one. I just don't know the right components to buy since different threads say different types. Currently, i'm using a Sony VAIO laptop with only 4gb RAM and 500GB HD but it's not enough since I like to download movies and stuff. So if anyone could, please help me with my wish.

Here's my wish list on the PC: My budget is $500-$1,200 (willing to pay a lil more if it satisfy my wish)

- Good performance on games like MMORPGs (i don't play FPS games much)
- Good/Better graphics for videos (anime is main concern on videos)
- 8GB - 16GB RAM (32GB for 4x slots in PC) if possible since i can't upgrade my RAM on my laptop unless i remove both built in.
- Look is also my concern since i don't like plain looking cases. (btw how do those PCs got light like normal light but its in blue color?)
- Hard Drive spaces at least 1TB but the more the better (the main part that i'm willing to pay more than average) since i like to keep my download files. Reason is because i bought a 1TB external HD but only used up to 100gb and 2-3 days later when i plugged it in, it just fried on me (doesn't load) so i lost all the video files in there.
- Software: how does this work if i'm building my own PC? do i have to buy a window 7 or 8 package for this? and what kind of softwares do i have to get to run the PC?

So please help me if you have any suggestions on what should i buy? where should i buy that is good and reliable? what the price range of those items?