Help me choose: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO/THUNDERBOLT vs GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UP4 TH Motherboard

bdubbin

Distinguished
Jul 20, 2011
So I think I've narrowed my search down to these two motherboards. I'm trying to futureproof my motherboard selection as I'd like my computer to last 5 years or more so that's why I'm wanting Thunderbolt. I've built two desktop computers before so I'm not a total newb, but the last one I built (and still use) was 10 years ago! I'd also like as many Sata 6g/b and eSata ports as possible.

I can get either of these motherboards for around the $180 mark. The ASUS seems overall the better board but the GIGABYTE does have 2 Thunderbolt ports.

What is the community thought on these side-by-side?

I notice that on the newegg site the ASUS has been discontinued but I supposed all of these 1155 boards have a limited shelf life now with Haswell coming soon.

Thoughts?

John_VanKirk

Distinguished
Hi there,
To future proof your new build, might consider waiting just a little while longer and looking at the ASUS Z87 boards. Here is a link to their preview:

http://rog.asus.com/230442013/news/asus-z87-design-story/

They sure look great, and I'm pretty sure they have thumderbolt built in. It's a new CPU 1150 socket with the Haswell chip, so the 1155's are toward the end of their lifespan regarding speed and additional features. They run at a cooler temp, slightly higher freq, and have 802.11ac on the boards.
The word is they will be available June 3rd. Something worth considering, and will certainly stretch out the usefulness of your system.

bdubbin

Distinguished
Jul 20, 2011
Thanks for the reply John. I know it's a bit hypocritical of me saying I want to futureproof my computer and yet am looking at a sunset technology like the 1155, but I already have the Intel 3770k CPU, so I'm stuck with an 1155 motherboard. I picked up the CPU for $275 and at the time didn't really find the Haswell chips a lot more appealing than the IB ones.

John_VanKirk