Sign in with
Your question

Uninstalled my video driver with aim of updating, this failed, now I'm stuck

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
May 30, 2013 1:49:02 PM

Hello guys and gals, could do with some help,

Basically I wanted to update my video driver (I have a Windows XP) so I went to my computer, properties, hardware, Device Manager, Display Adapters, and then decided to Uninstall my VIA Chrome9 HC IGP Family driver with the aim of updating it with a driver on the S3 (S3 are apparently the manufacturer's) website, because I read on a howto site that this is how you update your drivers, one should install ones current one first in order so that they do not conflict. So I uninstalled and then decided to try and update it by downloading a driver from the s3 website here: http://www.s3graphics.com/en/drivers/index.aspx

So I must admit I'm a novice with computers, I downloaded the one which said Chrome 500 Series: Windows XP Driver. Other details of this one I tried to install say;
"README.TXT

Version: 6.14.10.0701
Version Date: 07/19/2012
Release Date: 07/26/2012
Microsoft Windows XP WHQL

S3 GRAPHICS CHROME 500 Series DISPLAY DRIVER
FOR WINDOWS XP

OPERATING SYSTEMS

Windows XP with Service Pack 3
(HD Audio requires SP3)
DirectX Version 9.0c
___________________"

When I ran it, it stopped half way into the installation and said "Setup was unable to complete the installation. Check the progress log in your Windows director for more details. (-5)->C:\WINDOWS\s3iscfg.log"

Then I decided to restart my computer, only to find that all of the images were HUGE, and the resolution had changed. I've looked back to see if I have my original driver, the VIA Chrome9 HC IGP Family driver, but it is gone, as is the Display Adapters tab on my Deice Manager.

Instead whenever I reboot my computer and login, I get a prompt which says

"Found New Hardware Wizard

Welcome to the Found New Hardware Wizard

This wizard helps you to install software for: