Alarm System Office

gabrieldriscoll

Honorable
Jun 1, 2013
Hi, I’m a student in a university in New South Wales, Australia and we were asked to compare an alarm system from a security system. Because of that homework, I was unable to understand the difference between security systems and Alarm Systems. I mean, they are used for the purpose of alerting you whenever an intruder is detected. So why are there so many varieties of security and alarm systems? How can we justify that an alarm system is way better than a security system? Why do some people prefer installing an alarm system over the other, and vice versa? If you are to choose from them, which will you choose?

Just saying, no formal education on the topic beyond what I have learnt in high school IT class', whatever I say could be completely wrong.

A security system would be something that immediately prevents an intruder from gaining access, regardless of what it is being protected. Two types of security, physical and digital. Physical is pretty self-explanatory, locks on the doors, tall fences, bars on the window, that kind of thing. Digital would be Username/Passwords on any computers, firewalls and encrypting sensitive data. These measures literally stop whoever is trying to gain access to the data being protected.
Alarm system sounds more like something that would alert an outside authority (police, private security) to the intrusion and they would deal with the problem. Equipment for this would be camera's, motion detectors and all that. On the software end you could also have network monitoring to see of any computers are doing anything they shouldn't or are on when it shouldn't be etc.