Sign in with
Your question

Sluggish computer performance

Last response: in CPUs
June 7, 2013 12:57:28 AM

hi guys, i am having a problem ,my computer is not snappy at all.it feels kind of sluggish and choppy,when gaming and when using windows in general.At first i thought that this was due to my cpu overheating(which it was,temperatures were going more than 75C at full load).my processor is phenom 2 965 be.So i changed my stock cooler with hyper tx3 and full load temps came down to around 60C..
But still my computer isnt snappy.although the performance has improved slightly.i think my hard disk is also faulty,but can faulty harddisks cause sluggishness and affect gaming performance?
And when i changed the cooler(i am a noob),although i cleaned the old thermal paste using alcohol,it was still kind of dirty...
Also,my 2 2gb rams were not bought together,and one is smaller than the other.i dont know if they are of the same clock speed(noob again).
So what could be the reason for the not snappy,sluggish performance of computer.plz guys help this thing is bugging me like hell,plz plz help me.
a b à CPUs
June 7, 2013 5:31:12 AM

peeyush,

The AMD Phenom II 965 (quad core @ 3.4GHz) is probably not the problem- the performance at is reasonable and 60C is not very high.