Should i go with Intel or AMD for gaming?

A_Walrus

Honorable
Jun 10, 2013
ok before i start, i completely realize that intel is faster than AMD, but for the price is it really worth it is what im asking. i was going to go for the i5-3570K 3.4 ghz/ 4 core with the asrock extreme4. but then i saw the AMD fx-6300 3.5ghz/6 core for 80 dollars cheaper. AND THEN to confuse me even more, any time i looked up comparisons of the 2, i only found comparisons with the FX-8350, which is 4.0ghz with 8 cores. and thats where i get confused, the AMD seems SO much better for SO much cheaper? what am i missing? why do people like intel so much more? btw im on a 1000 dollar budget, so if i go with the fx-6300 i could even fit in an ssd. so can someone please tell me why BOTH of those AMD's are better than the i5-3570K?????? (i AM a noob at building computers and this is for my first pc build, and im not a fan boy of either, as i dont have experience with either, so no raging please! and explain this for a noob! i dont quite understand geek english lol)

Forte EXE

Honorable
Jun 7, 2013
BAsicly the intel processor have stronger cores then the amd cores so in single threaded task the intel performs much better. For the most part games are single thread oriented no game out now uses more then 2-4 cores meaning the intel is working more of the total cpu were much of the amd processor is sitting by doing nothing.

Also each of the intel 4 cores is whole were the amds 8 cores are kinda half cores every 2 cores shares a cache with each other making the 8 core more like a 4 real core 4 virtual core machine. This becomes important when your not using all your cores cuz if the intle is using 2 cores its using 2 FULL fores with 2 FULL cashes were if the amd is using 2 cores its more like its using 1.5 cores cuz the 2 working cores are SHARING a cache unlike the intel cores who each have there own.