Sign in with
Your question

Question's from a young man aspiring about Computer Science, Computer Engineering, etc.

Last response: in Work & Education
June 10, 2013 1:58:30 PM

Hello, I am a high school student who is currently interested in Computer Science and Computer Engineering. I have always loved working with computers since I was a young child and I hope to pursue a career in those categories. However, I am at a loss with how I will prepare myself for those majors.

Unfortunately, I did not grow up being a script kiddie who turned into a programmer when high school came around. Instead I was one those kids who played MMOGs until their eyes got bloodshot and considered programming an adult’s job. After I quit playing those MMOGs I fell in love with hardware. I started to fantasize about building my very own computer after reading countless articles on Tom's Hardware and other websites. Finally, I gathered up all my saved money and built a computer. Ever since then I have read almost every article on Tom's Hardware and dabbled in programming (aka learning basic shell and very little python). But I am an infant. I'm inexperienced and I know that ninety percent of the students who pursue Computer Science and Engineering have been programming since a very young age! I am afraid that I have jumped on the wagon too late.