Help with Gaming CPUs

Takuma080

Honorable
Jun 11, 2013
Hey there. Im very new at the whole building your own cpu and upgrading rigs to be great gaming rigs. I just had many people telling me many conflicting "facts". I've been told All-in-One PC in general cannot be upgraded, and if so, only RAM and HD size. Besides that I assume nothing else can be changed. I want someone to elaborate and/or confirm on this issue.

And finally, lets say I wanted to buy a gaming PC. I want to know if these are still the same as an All-in-one PC or not. Here is an example.

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=5653741&Sku=I455-G4000

This is listed as a "Gaming PC". I want to know if these types of PCs are the same as A-I-One and if their components can be upgraded. Thanks alot for any answers in advance.

i would have to say most All in one pcs can be upgraded but as said the hdd and ram, as most likely the rest of the components are like a laptop and soldered to the board, and there may be some that can be upgraded but generally for gaming just stay away lol It matters on the all in one pc u get but i think majority will come with a mobile cpu and if not which there is quite a few that use desktop components like the ibuypower but in an all in one ur forced to use the IGPU or the graphics built into the board as there is no way to fit a pci-e dedicated graphics card in there lol

That pc as its a desktop can be upgraded as long as what u get is compatible as thats an intel i5 with lga 1155 ur upgrades cpu wise is the 3570k i5 or i7 3770k and a lga 1155 motherboard, and any video card thats pci-e that beats the 660gtx. Also the power supply can be upgraded to almost any atx psu, and the ram to 16gb or higher, add an ssd etc something that isnt manufactured specifically like the all in one pcs can basically be upgraded.

U can upgraded any prebuilt by just replacing the parts that u want as most use a standard atx/matax form factors etc.