First Build, Lots of Questions!

A Wooden Fork

Distinguished
Jun 12, 2013
This is my first build, and as such, I have quite a few questions. My build is as follows:
Case: Corsair 500R
Power Supply: Corsair AX850
CPU: Intel 4670k
Motherboard: ASUS Z87 Pro
RAM: 2X4GB G. Skill Ripjaws X DDR3-1866Mhz
*Edit* GPU: ASUS GTX 660 TI 3GB-DDR5 *Edit*

These are the things I plan to buy upfront. I'm going to salvage the rest or upgrade later. These salvages/upgrades include the hard drive, an SSD, keyboard, mouse, speakers, monitor, etc. I plan to use a fairly new Hitachi 7200 2TB hard drive, and I'll probably buy a 64GB SSD in the near future (I'll boot my OS from the SSD.) Before I start buying, are there any fundamental compatibility issues?

This, however, is not my main question. Since this is my first build, I have no idea how many fans I need. Do I need a discrete CPU cooler? Also, should I replace the stock Corsair fans? I've heard that stock fans are usually pretty bad. Is this true of Corsair?

The case comes with a 200mm side panel fan, two front-mounted 120mm fans, and one more 120mm fan mounted on the back.

My graphics card is high-end, very large, and will definitely be the most expensive part of my build. I don't plan on overclocking my CPU or GPU, but it is a remote possibility (This is the reason for the 850W power supply.) Will I have heat problems?

This machine will be used for gaming mostly. I'd like to run everything on the highest settings at 1920 X 1200 (and maybe run a second display at ~1680 X 1050.) I'll be playing games such as Planetside 2, Skyrim, Dota 2, Counter-Strike: GO, etc.

I've heard that Haswell isn't really worth the cost, but Microcenter is offering the 4670k for only $3 more than the 3570k, so I decided to go with it.

The total price of the build is approximately $1250. Any suggestions for lowering cost while maintaining similar performance? Any parts I'm missing?

TenPc

Honorable
Jul 11, 2012