Computer newbie looking for some advice.

RoseArkana

Honorable
Jun 17, 2013
Hi there, I have been having some thoughts lately and because I am a newb when it comes to PCs as I was a console gamer most of my life, I'm not entirely sure what I should do. I've had my current PC for around 6 and a half months now, and I have had no problems, however I have been running Windows 8, and after so long, I've become tired of it. I have been experimenting with Linux a lot lately, running it on a laptop i keep for college and i really enjoy the feeling of using Linux, as it feels smoother, and overall better to me. Because of these experiences, I am currently consider making the switch between Windows 8 and Linux, however I do not know if there will be some problems making this switch.

To put it as simple as i can, there is a lot of things on my PC at this moment that I am not sure if they would be compatible with Linux, ranging from programs i use on a daily basis to all my games i have bought on steam, and I really don't want to switch over to find the majority of things I use are incompatible.

I have looked into the possibility of doing a dual-boot with Windows 8 and Linux, but I am not confident at working with things like the BIOS so to be honest I am afraid in-case i screw something up.

I'm terribly sorry if this isn't exactly clear of what I am worried about, but I have trouble wording things when making explanations, so if there are any details you need before helping me, please do ask.

dmroeder

Distinguished
Jan 15, 2005
There is a high possiblity that the programs you are currently using will not be compatible with Linux. Very few programs are "cross platform" where it will work with either operating system.