Suggestions for Home NAS

mching

Honorable
Aug 31, 2012
I am in need of a NAS, Among other things, mainly to share my files around the other PCs in our household. I have no experience with NAS(s) and other networking stuff so I'm here to ask the good people of tom's for suggestions and opinion regarding this matter. Before anything else;

Here's what I need: (* means preferred, but not required)
1. The NAS must be able to run 24/7 without fail.
2. The harddrive(s) must be user-replacable (so no fixed built-in hdd)
3. Must have a minimum of atleast 2 HDD slots. (I'd say 4 max)
4. Must be effective in sharing files across the network.
5. Must not exceed $150 (exclude HDD costs)
* Able to handle 3tb per drive
* Decent read/write speeds
* doesn't need a lot of human interference (maintenance) once setup is finished.
* Small form-factor

I do realize that I have two options for this;
1. Buy a prebuilt NAS - I know that pre-built ones are easier to maintain, more convenient to setup, smaller in form factor, and built for the purpose of running 24/7 on low voltage. I realize that I have a significantly small budget for this. Given the expensive nature of pre-built NAS(s) I have a very small range of selection. Also, I do not live in the US or Canada (I'm asian, if that means anything lol) so newegg and Amazon are not an option. I've done some searching and the ones available locally that fits the bill are the Dlink DNS-320L and Buffalo workstation duo, pushing my budget to the limit can get me a synology ds212j.

Now I don't know much about NAS(s), but I wonder why the Dlink and buffalo are half the price of the synology given that all of them gave 2 bay drives, have roughly 1ghz processor, and 128mb-256mb ram. Also, I have not seen much reviews regarding the cheaper options so I don't really know how good they are.