Upgrading from GTX460 -- GTX 780 or single 670?

Single GTX670 or Single GTX780 -- bang for the buck upgrade?

Votes: 4 80.0%

Votes: 1 20.0%

• Total voters

Cera

Distinguished
Sep 11, 2010
Obviously, the BEST choice seems to be the GTX780. It's newer, it has better stats overall, comparable to the Titan all that jazz. But I see a lot of people were waiting for this 700-series release just so they could nab the 670's at a lower price point and forego the 700-series altogether. I thought to do the same, but now I'm not so sure. I'm here asking you if you think I'm due for an upgrade, and what would YOU recommend? Or would you recommend the money be put in to a new motherboard/processor instead? -- and would there be extra costs associated to that?

I use multiple HD displays and one of them is a large pen/tablet screen. I use high resolutions. I've noticed some issues with my graphics card (slow/not enough memory) and this is why I've thought to upgrade. I'm a digital artist and work with LARGE files in Photoshop CS6 and Painter. I also use Flash. I am not a hardcore gamer but I do game (Skyrim, Borderlands 2, League of Legends, etc). I watch videos files while I work. My computer is fast and I'm happy with the speed. I think the times I come across the graphics card stumbling, it's more from using multiple monitors and having various graphic intensive games/programs running simultaneously. The BIG reason I noticed something is because my tablet screen, Photoshop and my Graphics Card and the Tablet driver have been having issues and shutting down that monitor AND Photoshop. I've tried fixing the drivers but am throwing my hands up now and saying: get a new card.

Also, I'd like to go max settings on games, again. Like I could a couple years ago... Haha.

My machine:
Windows 8 Pro 64bit
i7-950 @3.07gHz
ASUS P6X58D-E
24GB RAM
Geforce GTX 460 1GB
Cintiq 24HD
1 or 2 more 24" monitors
A bunch of HDDs. I run my programs and OS from a solid state drive, though.