New pc, everything seems to work fine when gaming but when browsing the web, watching live streams or youtube videos my pc fre

Matto100

Honorable
Jun 21, 2013
The freezing and lock ups force me to have to restart as everything becomes unresponsive. Also when watching videos, when the freeze happens a consistent mechanical noise drones until i restart. I'm really stumped and would love some help, I am quite new to pc components and what not, so please bear with me.

Would also like to specify that the freezing happens at random times but only when watching videos etc

Tradesman1

Legenda in Aeternum
What CPU, mobo model, DRAM model, any OC? Could have to do with DRAM possibly, especially if just installed (i.e. running at defaults, not configured)....the Grinding may be HD, could be a loose fan mounting, a few possibles

Matto100

Honorable
Jun 21, 2013

-CPU- AMD FX-4100 quad core
-Ram-8GB patriot ram DDR3 1600 MHz PC3
-no oc
The ram is about 1 year old and recently I ran memtest and no errors occurred.
The cpu is also about 1 year old, i cant remember what the program was called but i ran it for about four it tested all the cores and there were no errors.
Checked all the fan mounts seem well secured

Tradesman1

Legenda in Aeternum
There's been a few other problems out here with Chrome lately, have you tried w/ another Browser I.E. or Firefox to see if they have the same problem? Not sure on the noise, trying to think what else it could be other than maybe the HD going bad

Risla

Honorable
Jun 16, 2013

Like Tradesman said .. try another browser ( firefox, IE , opera, ..) see what gives.
The noise could also be coming from your GPU .. I suggest you take a piece of paper , roll it up and put it to your ear.. That way you can better pinpoint where the noise is coming from (assuming your pc case is open ofc)

Matto100

Honorable
Jun 21, 2013