Graphics station, ~450-600$ (+ HDD Problem)

Wobblz

Distinguished
Jun 27, 2013
Hello guys,

I'm a graphic designer and I live in Sofia, Bulgaria. I'm in great need of help currently so thanks in advance for any input on my problems. :)

-

Yesterday my HDD refused to boot properly as it does quite a lot. I've had tons of problems with HDDs the last six months. First it was with a Barracuda, I guess most of you know the BSY signal problem with some of those. I don't remember whether it bricked but I couldn't run it properly even on another machine - it was as good as dead. Then I used an old HDD which failed too for some reason. I bought a brand new HDD and now it too failed to boot:

HDD SMART Command Failed

till now it the error on POST was

Insert proper boot device

In most cases I change the SATA port and reboot which fixes the problem till next time, this time tho this didn't help.

Previous times I tried almost everything that came to mind - low level formats, bios reflashes and so on. I haven't still diagnosed the current issue with Hirens Boot CD cause I'm tired of all the HDD problems recently. I guess it's either the Power Supply or the MB itself and I'm having some freelance work next weekend so an upgrade won't hurt and would put all this to an end.

If you have any ideas for a workaround or something specific to try so I can have more time to upgrade and complete my projects - great.

-

Still, this doesn't change the fact that my machine is years old so it's about time to upgrade. My current configuration is:

Asus P5QL
Pentium Dual-Core 2,5GHz
6GB RAM, guess they're DDR2 so I won't be able to slot them
Radeon HD4850

I work with two monitors on DVI.

The things I'd like to keep are my external sound and LAN cards (both PCI), the HDD if it's still working and the GPU cause as far as I know most 3D renderers and 99% of Adobe's products' functionality have no benefit from GPU processing power so most importantly I need CPU and RAM.

-