Sign in with
Your question

[First Build] Am I ready to start building with these parts?

Last response: in Systems
June 27, 2013 5:06:44 AM

This is my first build, I'm a software guy not a hardware guy so I did a few days of research on parts, looked at reviews, benchmarks, whatever I could find. Now I'm all set to order and having always come to Tom's Hardware for information I know I can get some good feedback here from a knowledgeable community.

It's also probably worth mentioning I don't plan on OCing, just to be able to play all modern titles on ultra high settings.

Thanks in advance, here's the parts I've selected:

CPU: Intel Core i7-4770K Haswell 3.5GHz LGA 1150 84W Quad-Core Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics BX80646I74770K
MOBO: ASUS SABERTOOTH Z87 LGA 1150 Intel Z87 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard
Case: Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case with Upgraded USB 3.0
HDD: Seagate Barracuda ST500DM002 500GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive
OD: LITE-ON Black 18X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA DVD-ROM Drive Model iHDS118-04 - OEM
Power: CORSAIR Builder Series CX600 600W ATX12V v2.3 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC Power Supply
RAM: Kingston HyperX 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 Desktop Memory Model KHX1600C10D3B1K2/16G
GPU: SAPPHIRE 100351SR Radeon HD 7970 3GB 384-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card OC with Boost

Thanks again in advance for your help, this computer will be used for when I have a few hours from the busy work week to kick back, relax, and game a few of the newer games in ultra with (hopefully) no problems. All constructive criticism is welcomed!
June 27, 2013 6:09:58 AM