portable laptop for business student

Status
Not open for further replies.

jaxst

Honorable
Jun 25, 2013
Hi everyone, I've been looking for a laptop for a while now mainly being hung up on battery life, I am in search of something really portable as I travel a lot and carry quite a bit on me when i am on campus, i was really interested in the chromebook, it's price is excellent and battery life and fits my needs mainly of word processing, however, as a finance student i need excel, and i don't know if google spreadsheet can "replace" excel for me, plus chromebooks don't(?) run java, and are difficult to torrent on. (makes me sad!) Secondly i have considered the macbook air although i really want to stay away from apple, however the battery life(10+ hours) and portability has me sold, i would just be forced to install win7 on it. I really want to avoid buying an apple computer (for personal reasons) and would prefer buying a windows computer if i can find something light and 7+ hours of battery life and cheaper, 1100 is a lot for a computer just running word suite, i like the ultrabooks but most have awful battery life and poor wifi connectivity, so i am looking on here for any suggestions before i go with an air, would appreciate any help i can get, i know haswell is supposed to increase battery life for portable devices and i should probably wait but just looking at options now, would appreciate any help

Specifications (i took some out that don't pertain to my specs)

1. What is your budget?

1100 but would rather keep it cheap since i don't need it to do that much

2. What is the size of the notebook that you are considering?

13.3/14.0" or less, 3.5 lbs or less

4. Do you need a portable or desktop replacement laptop? portable

5. How much battery life do you need? 6-7+ would be ideal, i would like 8

7. What other tasks do you want to do with your laptop? (Photo/Video editing, Etc.)

word processing watching movies