Sign in with
Your question
Solved

What qualifications should I obtain for a job working under a PC repair technician?

Last response: in Work & Education
July 2, 2013 6:52:10 AM

I'm a seventeen-year-old high school graduate. Because of personal reasons I have to start college a bit late and in the meantime am trying to save up money. My passion is in computers. There's a wonderful computer repair shop within half a mile of my house and I'd like to apply there, but I have at least a month to do so and in that month can take the time every day to study any books, take any online classes (depending on price) or practice any concept. I've also done my best to order points below in the order I find them to be most valuable to a job in this field.

Things I have done personally:
-Worked with computers since I was a toddler and developed an aptitude for learning quickly what I do not know
-Built custom PC builds for myself and others, and designed build part lists for others who wanted to assemble it themselves, including builds within set budget ranges
-Disassembled, cleaned, and reassembled many unique PC's
-Studied and practiced Objective-C and Python
-Assessed PC's for others and removed malware, installed software, helped troubleshoot software for them and then taught them how to properly use said software
-Kept up to date on recent technologies and software as it is released
-Daily research into the current events of the fields of computer science, software and hardware, and physics

Things I have done in school:
-High School Diploma
-2 years Programming Class, learning mostly Java and HTML, and general programming theory (I wish there had been more in the curriculum, honestly)
-1 year of Web Design
--- HTML
--- Adobe Dreamweaver, InDesign, Photoshop, Premiere, After Effects
--- A Microsoft Cert. (which I can't seem to find) in Office 2007 Powerpoint