Overclocking an AMD Athlon II x2 250 on an Asus M4A78LT-M LE?

Jamie_Edwards

Distinguished
Feb 20, 2012
Hi guys,

I've managed to overclock my cpu to roughly 3.6Ghz using the auto feature on the board.

Because I'm using the auto feature, I had a choice of a value between 200-550. I incremented the value up by 5 till I got to 260 and had a stable oc of just over 3.6Ghz.

But, when I changed it to a value of 265, it wouldn't post. So after I'd got it to post again with the default values I incremented up by to and amazingly I got it up to 262 with yet a stable oc. Then when I took it up to 263, it wouldn't post... again.

So I decided to have a go at the vcore voltage ( on my board it's called Over Voltage ) and changed the value of "auto" and incremented it up 0.625 ( as that was the default increment ).

Because I'm a complete beginner to oc'ing and read that if you pump to much voltage into the cpu, you could fry it, I took it up until 1.500v and still it wouldn't post and as I didn't want to fry it, I set it back to auto.

What I'd like to know is. Is that actually adding 1.500 volts on top of the current voltage ( which is around 1.488v )? Or is it starting from 1.500v?

I want to try and pull off at least 3.8Ghz and at it'd be amazing if I could pull off 4Ghz!

Could it also be that the board is throttling the oc to protect itself? Hence the constant no posting and "overclocking failed" message when I get it to post again?

csf60

Honorable
May 11, 2012
The limiting factor here is your board. It is a lower end board and because of that it has trouble with an FSB higher than 260. No matter how many volts you give to your CPU, the problem is the mobo. Post here other voltages you can modify in BIOS to see if anyone would help here.

Jamie_Edwards

Distinguished
Feb 20, 2012
OK so as there's quite a bit of options here, I've copied everything on the page. Here's the options I have:

CPU Overclocking [Manual]