Help needed in choosing Proc / MB / Ram for a gaming system

Alex Leyzar

Honorable
Jul 3, 2013
Hello guys,

Needless to say i am trying to build a new system and need some help.
The system will be used for gaming mostly. (this system WILL BE OCd)
I have a few issues i need to clear up before placing my part order.

1) Haswell i7 4770k vs Ivy Bridge i7 3770k.
I know... i know there are tons of threads with this question, please allow me to ask it again.

-I have seen the benchmarks ... little to no difference from what i can gather, the 4-7% performance difference dose not impress me, is my info correct ?

-For overclocking is ivy better or not ?
I see tons of opinions .. some say this some say that.... witch is it ? ... and is it a big gap between the 2 overclocking-wise ?
I am not a pro OC-er but i would like to give it a go, from what i have read here it seems that you don't really shorten the lifespan of the proc as long as you keep it cool and don't turn up the voltage to much, is this info true ?
Now i know every chip is different but could you give me a... lets say a "safe set" of OC variables ?
I will keep this config for at least 3 years so i would very much like not to fry it.

-At the end of the day witch is better for gaming ?
I will have in this system a good graphics card, witch i haven't decided yet.

-This moronic (imo) "haswell certification"
My PSU is a Seasonic M12 SS 700, yes its a older model but it runs so good i don't see why i should change it. Do i need to change it if i go for a haswell ? Do you consider this PSU obsolete and should i change it anyway ?
From what info i gathered i understand that non certified PSUs will work just fine if you turn off the C7 low power bla bla bla. What i did not manage to find out is What do i lose if i have to turn off the C7 low power bla bla bla ? If its just the case of consuming a little more power and dose not affect the performance and stability of my system please let me know.