best graphics card for a lighting and rendering artist in maya

Srikanth7

Honorable
May 24, 2013
hi guys, for my previous doubt there was good responce from tom's and im satisfied a lot with tom's suggestion ... as i follow tomshardware a lot i like your benchmark techniques and suggestions on system hardware optimisation a lot .

i have a doubt regarding workstation graphics card , im a lighting and rendering artist and maya is my tool, i hav i7 3820(4.6ghz), 16gb vengeance, ocz vertex 3 ssd, for a regular usage and gaming my pc does great job .

now all i wanted is to focus on my profession so i decided to purchase a workstation card for my system, my budget is around $1000-1200 . can u guys suggest a good workstation graphics card from latest nvidia quadro or amd firepro ... im intrested in quadro more as im a fan of nvidia .

" is my system totally compatable for rendering and lighting job ? "

if not give me suggestions for a workstation configuration .. thank you tom's

basch99

Honorable
May 8, 2012
Quadro cards are better for Maya than Geforce cards are, due to their architecture. There are just two big options for you right now;

The Quadro K4000 is a workstation card for $754 . The next step up is a Quadro K5000 which retails for a whopping 1778.88 on Amazon.

Get the Quadro K4000 and pocket the savings on a new monitor for that professional work. Geforce cards (Especially the Kepler cards) are crippled in their Compute performance and rendering is "precision computing" so Quadro cards are designed for that usage.

Here is the Maya benchmark from the latest Tom's Hardware review of the GTX 760:

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/geforce-gtx-760-review-gk104,3542-17.html
OPENGL-Maya-2013.png

More benchmarks here:
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/geforce-gtx-titan-opencl-cuda-workstation,3474-4.html
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/geforce-gtx-titan-opencl-cuda-workstation,3474-5.html

Srikanth7

Honorable
May 24, 2013