Sign in with
Your question

Need advice for my new computer please! (first time DIY guy here) gaming/video render build

Last response: in Systems
July 5, 2013 1:07:56 PM

New Computer (First Time!)

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/1dChu (updated parts list)

That's my build, like I said...I'm VERY new to all of this so if anyone could help me out with any tips or compatibility issues, or even cost saving tips I missed would be extremely grateful.

The only major hitches I came across while designing this build were:

1. Choosing between RAM types

2. Wondering about the motherboard and if it will last me a few years to come

3. Do I need to purchase an aftermarket insert for a wired internet connection? I couldn't find any information about an integrated piece.

4. Finally, with this specific case that I chose...the ASRock motherboard I chose has a front facing USB 3.0 port and part picker alerted me that the case has no option to utilize that feature. Not sure if that would give me any issues with putting the motherboard in, or if it simply means I have a wasted usb port on it.

I plan to play World of Warcraft, Total War, and League of Legends while recording/streaming video (depends on the mood I'm in) for my Twitch and Youtube accounts.

Oh, sorry if I misplaced this thread or didn't format my questions correctly. I don't usually ask for help with DIY projects...but for something like this, I would love any help I can get.

Thanks in advance,
Steve
a b 4 Gaming
a b À AMD
July 5, 2013 1:59:37 PM

get a 8gb ddr3 1600mhz ram, it would be enough. u won't need more than 8gb for gaming. if u plan to do SLI/Xfire in future then get the psu u listed otherwise a corsair CX600W would be enough. and get an aftermaket cpu cooler like cooler master hyper 212 EVO.
Otherwise everything is fine.
a b 4 Gaming
a b À AMD
July 5, 2013 2:03:27 PM

here's the link to the cpu cooler:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...