Broke college student needs help building new pc

Fconti2689

Honorable
Jul 6, 2013
I know the basics about building a PC from scratch but have really only upgraded my prebuilt systems so far. Recently I began upgrading my dell desktop I bought back in 2010 for gaming and school work. I put a new video card and power supply a few months ago and quickly found out I couldn't upgrade much more. Now I want to begin building a new system but hope to salvage some parts from my Dell for now.

Corsair TX 750
RADEON HD6850

My current desktop also has a intel core i7 CPU 920 2.67 ghz I am also hoping to use for sometime in my new pc but would definitely look to upgrade that eventually.

Basically my question is if this is possible? Can I use my current CPU, power supply, graphics card, fans etc and begin building a new system? I am looking to upgrade everything by December to play games like Battlefield 4 on high graphics. $ is def an issue as I am a broke college student so I try to wait for deals on anything and everything ( just got 3 fans on tigerdirect free after rebate!!) also my current pc gets hotter than I would like so any tips on cooling would be appreciated.

DSzymborski

Titan
If your current PSU is a TX 750 (I was unclear if that's what you were looking about or what you had), you should have no problem moving it to a new build. Don't worry about the fans, most cases will come with a few and will probably be in a better alignment (and quality) than your Dell.

The i7-920 Bloomfield is getting up there (5 years old now if memory serves), but it's still a very adequate CPU - I wouldn't recommend a new build involving tracking it down, but if you're tight with $ and already have it, there's really nothing wrong with it.