Sign in with
Your question

RAM Buying Guide

Last response: in Memory
July 12, 2013 3:49:04 PM

Hello guys, I am a newbie in this forum so if I have done something wrong correct me....:) 

I just want to know what I must have in mind before buying a new RAM, but a little bit more advanced, not only the ammount of GB and the speed....!
Have a nice day

More about : ram buying guide

a c 174 } Memory
July 12, 2013 4:21:04 PM

AegeanGhost98 said:
Hello guys, I am a newbie in this forum so if I have done something wrong correct me....:) 

I just want to know what I must have in mind before buying a new RAM, but a little bit more advanced, not only the ammount of GB and the speed....!
Have a nice day

[*1] Know what kinda of memory your system/ motherboard / laptop supports.

• [*2] The amount of memory you have and the number of free slots.

• [*3] How much memory you need? (depends on the applications you run)

• [*4] Match the speed, the voltage and CL timings. (eg. 9-9-9, the first number is the CL).

• [*5] Then check if your system supports Non-ECC, ECC, Registered ECC, Fully Buffered ECC memory etc. If you have a desktop then you are most likely to use Non-ECC memory as ECC is used more in server environments.

If you need any suggestions about the right RAM for your system lemme know. Cheers!!
    a c 1941 } Memory
    July 12, 2013 6:58:32 PM

One of the biggest things, in particular is what CPU you are running and what it can handle, particularly true with AMD CPUs - what a mobo can support is more often than not, much more than many CPUs can, i.e. take a look at the specs on the Asus Crosshair 990

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

According to specs it can take 2400 and up to 32GB, yet the top of the line CPU is the FX-8350 it can run UP TO 1866 AT 1 DIMM PER CHANNEL, or 2 sticks of 1866 which = 16GB max - a far cry from 32GB od 2400
    Related resources
    Can't find your answer ? Ask !
    July 13, 2013 4:25:58 AM