Sign in with
Your question

Building my First Gaming PC - Is this a Good Set?

Last response: in Systems
July 12, 2013 3:51:12 PM

I've never built one before but I did research and realized it might be better to build one myself.

Here are the specs: http://amzn.com/w/12NL0XS9PSFS2 (via amazon wishlist)

Overall it sums up to around $930 plus I need windows 8... and I want to drop the price range to about $700 if possible!

My question is is there anything I can change to save money yet keeping the performance? Will these fit in the case and I'm pretty sure these are all compatible with e/o, right?

The games I plan on playing are mostly on Steam (i.e. TF2, CounterStrike, Skyrim, Grand Theft Auto, Mirror's Edge, Call of Duty and downloading some to try out...).

Any suggestions would be helpful too. Thanks.
July 13, 2013 1:08:42 PM

You have 2 cases selected so I dont know what you want there. Firstly your CPU, the CPU you selected is not worth it. Grab yourself a FX 6300 and a cheapish AM3+ motherboard. The 6300 is $120 vs $200 for the i5. You can also over clock the FX. Get yourself cheap ddr3-1600 ram, it doesn't matter what brand. You probably don't need all those fans for your case either.
FX-6300- $120
AM3+ MB- $50-80
GTX 660- $200
CPU cooler-$20
DVD- $20
SSD-$100
RAM-$60
PSU- $50
Case- $40
Total: ~$700

Look in those price ranges, I don't know if you need to purchase through amazon but those are decent prices and should be the ranges you're looking at.
July 15, 2013 1:06:36 AM

kirilmatt said:
You have 2 cases selected so I dont know what you want there. Firstly your CPU, the CPU you selected is not worth it. Grab yourself a FX 6300 and a cheapish AM3+ motherboard. The 6300 is $120 vs $200 for the i5. You can also over clock the FX. Get yourself cheap ddr3-1600 ram, it doesn't matter what brand. You probably don't need all those fans for your case either.
FX-6300- $120
AM3+ MB- $50-80
GTX 660- $200
CPU cooler-$20
DVD- $20
SSD-$100
RAM-$60
PSU- $50
Case- $40