Which configuration is better for gaming and multimedia?

Griffin832

Distinguished
Jul 10, 2013
I am new to configuring PC's and I have finally come up with the final two builds that I need to chose between. My main goal for this PC is to be able to run ANY game at MAX settings at 1080p with a steady 60+ FPS. I will also be using it for lots of school work, (As I am only 13) such as video editing and programming. Please chose what configuration you believe is better and if you feel the need to make a change to a configuration feel free to do so. Please note: Price is NOT an issue! (THANKS in advance!) ALSO! I am not sure how many Watts of power I need in my PSU for either of these builds, I am interested in overclocking, so if you wouldn't mind telling me a good PSU and Wattage that would be much appreciated!

Configuration 1:

Case: Rosewill Thor V2 Gaming Case
CPU: i7 - 3770k
CPU Cooler: Corsair Hydro Series H60 Liquid CPU Cooling System
RAM: 16gb Corsair Vengance 1600mhz
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB EVGA Superclocked
Motherboard: ASUS Sabertooth Z77
PSU: ???

Configuration 2:

Case: Rosewill Thor V2 Gaming Case
CPU: i7 - 4770k
CPU Cooler: Corsair Hydro Series H60 Liquid CPU Cooling System
RAM: 16gb Corsair Vengeance 1600mhz
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 2GB EVGA Superclocked
Motherboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
PSU: ???

kirilmatt

Distinguished
May 6, 2013
Since money doesn't matter the 2nd config. Haswell is a little bit better then IB, but it really wouldn't matter. As for PSU get a good 700W+ and you'll be good. Both configs are more then enough for your workload. You do not need such a high end GPU for gaming at 1080p, and the CPU is more then enough to power your GPU and other needs.

neither.