PS4 or custom Build for equal price(ish)

PS4 or described build

• PS4

Votes: 2 50.0%
  • Custom Build

Votes: 2 50.0%

• Total voters

Jonny-Goddard

Honorable
Jul 16, 2013
So, my situation is I am a novice to PC building, traditionally being a console based gamer.
With the next gen of consoles here I wondered whether I could assemble a pc of equal or greater performance to a ps4, for the same price.
Here is the list of components that i was thinking about:

http://www.ebuyer.com/lists/list/206899

What I want to know is will this build (or one that you suggest) perform as well or greater than a ps4 AND be future proof enough to last through the PS4 - Xbone era.

Quite simply, you are trying to compete against a dedicated gaming device at the same pricepoint, with a PC which is simply a machine that can have gaming performance.
If you could win that fight, Sony/Microsoft have done something pretty wrong.

If you can only afford to spend as much as a console for a gaming machine, get a console.

Kingbob

Honorable
Apr 30, 2013
The CPU, case, and PSU, scare me a little bit.
Just so you know, you can't do local mulit player if you have a PC, however, if you're into indie games, the PC s king. You should spend more than the price of the Xbox one if u want a gaming rig that will outlast the consoles. Just an FYI.

Jonny-Goddard

Honorable
Jul 16, 2013

I accept and appreciate what you are saying, which is why I thought about a motherboard which supports crossfire so in the future i could put in another 7770. And also using only one of the ram slots.

I do currently have a crappy laptop on which i play games (that aren't too graphically demanding) so I know how pc gaming works, But I am new to building one.

Also I know the case is crappy, but I won't be overclocking or anything and I'm not worried about noise so it only needs to hold the components and let the fans do the work. Might add a couple fans to the case if it runs too hot.