which SLI or CFX cards for 4x 2560x1440 monitors?

myomonitorz

Honorable
Jul 16, 2013
Hi,

Trying to decide which cards to get to run 4 monitors at 2560x1440. I have i4770@3.5, ASUS Z87-WS, 256GB SSD, and 32GB RAM.

My choices are...
a) 2 or 3 GTX 770 2G or 4G in SLI,
b) 2 GTX 780 in SLI,
c) 2 or 3HD 7970 GHz CFX.
d) or any other suggestions?

The prices for 3 GTX 770s 4G or 3 HD 7970 GHz is comparable to 2 GTX 780s and that's pretty much my max budget for video cards.

I have read in a few reviews where 3GB+ vRams are needed to run multiple monitors and a review where 7970 outperformed GTX in heavy financial calcs plus charting. I am not a big gamer but I would prefer the flexibility.

Thanks for your advices.

myomonitorz

Honorable
Jul 16, 2013
The primary use for this system is to show live streamed financial charts and scans. Over 50 distinct charts and video streams across the 4 screens. This is my first build for this type of use and I am not too familiar with Quadro, Tesla, etc.

Do you have suggestions?

Thanks

endeavour37a

Honorable
I am not sure how video intensive graphs and charts could possibly be relative to gaming. Thinking about it I would think a pair of 770's should handle it just fine. AMD has XFire issues so I could not recommend them. 2 770s would be 800, 3 would be 1200, 2 780s would be 1300, 3 770 should be more power than 2 780s................

I would do 2 770s in SLI, add a 3rd if necessary, it just may do a great job and save you a lot of money...

myomonitorz

Honorable
Jul 16, 2013
What tests other than games can I download to evaluate how the video cards perform? I have 2x770 in SLI right now, but seeing occasional lag in data stream while updating charts. Not sure if its system or data stream issue.

Thanks

If this is a day trading system there is no way you need SLI or crossfire graphics cards.

Even a single GeForce GTX 760 will drive four monitors simultaneously.

myomonitorz

Honorable
Jul 16, 2013