i have a question about a cpu upgrade

Kaitlin Kaschak

Distinguished
Jun 13, 2013
heres my question if i upgrade from an athlon 64 X2 5800+ 3.0GHz dual core cpu to an AMD Phenom X4 9850B processor (2.5 GHz, 2 MB Dedicated L2 cache, 2 MB Shared L3 cache, HT bus 3.0) will that help me gaming wise the game im trying to play require a minimum 2.6GHz athlon 64 X2 dual core cpu im new to multi core cpu's so if i upgrade from a 3.0 dual core to a 2.6 dual core how will that affect my games in terms of frame rate and speed

apower101

Honorable
Dec 25, 2012
you're upgrading a dated cpu to another dated cpu. Don't do that. Buy at least, an i3 with an hzz/z77 mobo, so you have the option to run an i5/i7 later on. That way you will have expanded your upgrading potential exponentially, and you won't have a half bad system. Also, games are more gpu intensive, and since you're running that system, it's a safe bet to say you aren't running a good gpu. You might want to look into that. However, now isn't a good time to upgrade your system, as prices are high, and a new gpu generation is just about to arrive. Also, haswell core i3's (the latest ones) are coming in september. If you can wait a couple of months, I would do that. Otherwise give me a budget and I can help you.

Kaitlin Kaschak

Distinguished
Jun 13, 2013
thoes upgrade options wont work i cant afford more then 100 dollars orth of parts im low income and i dont work im disabled so i have limited monthly income 100$ is the max i can spend till next year

thanks for trying tho

Dont forget to close the post by selecting best solution
We all would appreciate it
[/quotemsg]

Kaitlin Kaschak

Distinguished
Jun 13, 2013