I'm Constructing a ~£1100 system, is there anything worth upgrading/downgrading?

justoliver

Honorable
Jul 23, 2013
Hi there!

This is my first build and I have taken some advice from a PC enthusiast (my brother; I was wondering if there were any components that I have listed as part of my system that are worth changing? I am looking to keep my system at around the £1100 mark, so I do need to be (slightly) price conscious! The components list (thus far) is as follows:

-Cooler Master HAF XB Tower(you won't change my mind on this one, I LOVE it!)
-Asus Z87-PRO Motherboard
-Intel Core i5 4670K Quad Core CPU
-Gigabyte 7970 3GB AMD Radeon Graphics Card
-Corsair CMZ8GX3M2X2133C9R Vengeance 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 2133 Mhz RAM
-Corsair Builder Series CXM 750W Modular 80 PLUS Bronze PSU
-Samsung 840 Series 120GB SSD
-LG Optical Drive (Basic)
-Western Digital 1TB Caviar Blue HDD
-Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO CPU Cooler
-Cooler Master MegaFlow 200mm Case Fan

Also if there is anything else that I will need for my build that I might not know about, then please feel free to enlighten me!

I am also looking for a sub-£160, 23-24" monitor, so any suggestions on that would be awesome!

I have had some advice from a colleague suggesting that I should invest more in my motherboard; what do you think? Do try to suggest an even number of downgrades and upgrades, as I am trying to keep it around the same total :p

Thanks guys!

I'd recommend this for the monitor:

http://www.ebuyer.com/291443-iiyama-prolite-x2377hds-23-ips-panel-led-hdmi-monitor-x2377hds

Surprising how fast you can reach £1100! I would have thought there would be the capacity there to step up to a GTX770. Also I'd grab a Seasonic or XFX power supply for quality / reliability. Corsair are known for good PSUs, but more the TX/HX models than the Builder series. Also, not a big deal but I wouldn't user an LG writer. I'd stick to Samsung or ASUS for that.

justoliver

Honorable
Jul 23, 2013