HP Launches its Android-Powered SlateBook x2 Early

Status
Not open for further replies.

BringMeAnother

Honorable
Apr 22, 2012
I'm curious, what use is high resolution screen on an Android device? I mean I'm a programmer and web developer and I can't use any screen less than 1080p on my Windows machine when I work, but that's for doing real work. While you could do some real work on an Android device, it is mostly for content consumption. I doesn't seem like a higher resolution would make content consumption that much better. Also, you can't multi task on Android, so why the higher resolution beside looking nicer? Anyone welcome to answer.

schultzter

Honorable
Aug 1, 2013
This looks pretty cool. I've always wondered why Asus' Transformer was the only hybrid Android tablet. But one thing I can't get over HP's cursor keys - they're tiny, un-usable!!!

ipwn3r456

Honorable
Mar 21, 2012

Some of the things I can think of the use of 1080p screen would be watching HD movies, lesser pixelation due to it's higher DPI display. It can be useful for older people who can't see very well, so when then zoom in the text, they can see it better. But I kind of agree of what you said, 1080p screens is mostly useful for media and entertainment. You as a programmer, 720p screens for an Android device would be enough for you. Of course you don't want a too low resolution Android device.

w8gaming

Honorable
Dec 21, 2012
If a Android device is 1280x800, Teamviewer on Android displaying a 1024x768 Windows desktop unable to show the desktop completely, and you need scrolling up and down to view the missing content. Let's hope with 1920x1200 resolution, it can finally display a full desktop. Maybe such high resolution will help there.

Also, some people feel that high resolution makes reading a e-Book easier on the eye, so that could be another advantage for such high res display.

lance SUNDRICH

Honorable
May 15, 2013