$1000-$1100 all new build for gaming and illustration/design

RTLemur

Honorable
Jul 31, 2013
Hi everybody. I am looking to build a completely new PC. I am still pretty new to this. Before last year, I really only knew how to open the case on a prebuilt I had, and replace the RAM and GPU. Last summer, when I was still living with my brother, a friend helped us build a PC together (now my brother has that PC at his place). The friend picked most of the parts for us, and helped us assemble 90% of it, and then completed/resolved some further issues via my own research and a little help from a PC service shop.

So I have a basic familiarity with the guts of a PC, and some memory of how it goes together. With the help of some tutorials/videos I should be able to put this next one together on my own. What I need advice on is picking the parts.

Below I will outline my basic needs. Below that, I will list some parts I am currently thinking of. Some parts are based on feedback in other threads I found on this forum, with people asking for Photoshop/illustrator/gaming build advice. Other parts I picked mostly based on ratings/price, and the basic stats associated with each. I am not well-versed in what brands may be better suited for certain things, or if there are specific sub-details that go beyond the surface level stats.

Approximate Purchase Date: Next 1-2 weeks

Budget Range: $1000-$1100

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Photoshop for illustration work, Illustrator/InDesign, gaming. The nature of my illustration work does not call for super intense rendering or hundreds of layers. I scan pencil drawings and add flat color. Layer count maybe 50-60 at very most, although I do work at least 350 DPi, sometimes 400. Dimensions can go as high as 14" x 22". And to be honest, I do not currently use InDesign/Illustrator in my practice, but I am in the process of learning more about each, and I plan to utilize both in the future for graphics/design work.