Computer Science For Career Change

Bane07

Honorable
Aug 7, 2012
Hi all,
First a little about myself. I graduated college almost 2 years ago with a degree in Finance. When i started i wanted to go the computer science route, but i heard horror stories of all the calculus and engineering classes, and it scared me away. I went the CIS route, took a couple programming classes (visual basic) and loved it. However the rest of the curriculum was a joke. It was the major for athletes if that tells you anything. So with my scholarships running out, and my dad paying out of pocket, I just took a few finance classes and got outa there in as little time as i could.

I've have always regretted not going the computer science route. Computers and technology are my passion. The career I'm in now is kind of a dead end job, and the best i can hope for is getting a day shift. So I've been tossing around the idea of going to the local college and taking come CS classes, possibly pursuing a bachelors. From what I've been told most if not all of my general curriculum classes will transfer, so it would be pretty affordable and i believe i could still work full time. Software development is what i really want to do. Centurylink's headquarters are located nearby , so employment potential seems great. Of course in the long run my dream would be to work for a video game company or something like that, but i'm staying realistic. What do you guys think? Is this something worth pursuing?

Thanks in advance

TCTechie

Honorable
Sep 2, 2013
Hello Bane07,

I'm a huge advocate for furthering your education, regardless of your current occupation/degree. One thing we figure out as we get older is what we really want to do in life. Like you've mentioned, you're not really happy with what you're doing and looking for some positive change. With that, I say go for it, get back in school and find something that keeps your interest.