In Pictures: The Windows 8.1 Preview

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

Windows 8.1, previously referred to as Windows Blue, is a major update that introduces numerous ergonomic improvements to Windows 8, gives you a number of new personalization options, and introduces a handful of Apps that were noticeably missing before.

In Pictures: The Windows 8.1 Preview : Read more

Okay, I actually don't want the start button back.

I always found it to be ugly and obtrusive with my minimalistic style, and would use programs to hide it. If it's not only ugly, but also does the same thing that's already there with both the windows key and the corner pop-up... there better be a way to disable it.

DjEaZy

Distinguished
Apr 3, 2008
... there is a start button, bot no easy to access to shut down and restart button... no search in start... no easy app close for desktop's and laptop's with no touchscreens... it is still awful... and i work in retail... nobody sticks with windows 8, they downgrade or buy a computer without windows and get a copy of Windows7...

Fierce Guppy

Distinguished
Mar 14, 2011
It is buggy as you'd expect for a beta release. The upgrade went flawlessly on my laptop but doesn't manage to complete on my desktop PC, which is running Win 8 pro. The USB ports don't appear to be getting initialized before the License Terms screen appears and I need a keyboard or mouse to accept the license terms. At least the rollback is far quicker than the install. The final release is due at the end of the month so I won't lob a nasty-gram at MS just yet.

lancelot123

Distinguished
May 12, 2008
Did you even read any of this DjEaZy? I think not.

"All you need to do is right-click on the Start Button and hover over the Shut down entry to bring up options for Sleep, Shut down, and Restart."

And that is just one of many things that you were complaining about.

JOSHSKORN

Distinguished
Oct 26, 2009